Holidays ▏暑假shǔjià 寒假hánjià

A couple of days ago, I stumbled upon a blog talking about 101 books to dive into this summer. Then it hit me—–the school summer vacation is here! It’s almost a ritual for the household of many to plan something during this unique time of a year. Plans like having a family trip to visit Rome or crossing one or two things off your bucket list. Why wouldn’t people to that? While the grass and trees everywhere is green and lush, why not break our routine, enjoy our time and make the best of this season? So, I ask myself: what’s my plan for this summer?

For a start, my plan includes writing this blog, introducing this topic in my own way. School summer vacation, 暑假shǔjià in Chinese is something all kids look forward to regardless of geographical boundaries, I suppose. In case this is a new term that you are struggling to memorize, follow me to look at its Chinese characters. 暑shǔ indicates hot temperature or heat and 假jià (when on the fourth Chinese tone) relates to the idea of taking a break or holiday. So, when these two form a term, the term logically becomes comprehensive for summer vacation, and perhaps under the Chinese cultural influence, grows into the summer vacation exclusively for schools and students. A directly relevant term to 暑假shǔjià is 寒假hánjià. If trying an inductive approach, you will soon have guessed that 寒hán is the character for cold and that 寒假hánjià means the school winter vacation.

Try to click the audio play below to hear how these terms are pronounced by a native Chinese.

So, here is the preface to my plan for this summer, the easy part that can be done in a couple of hours. The main chapter in my plan is something I have meant to have it done for many years but for various reasons postponed to this day. It’s getting my very first driving license! It may not sound like a big deal, but it is for me. It will mean a devotion of time and effort, of course not to mention the investment of money—–it costs around 5000 RMB (around $750) to receive a driver’s license. For years, this thought has been roaming in my head and finally the mind has been made—-it’s time, this summer, this 暑假shǔjià! I sure hope passing a driving test is also easy as I have heard from many people around.

Alright, that’s my plan for this summer, for this 暑假shǔjià! How about you? Do you have anything planned for this summer? Please leave a comment and perhaps share your story with us. I would love to hear all about it.

 

9 thoughts on “Holidays ▏暑假shǔjià 寒假hánjià

    1. Hi Anema, thanks for raising question for discussion!

      避’s meaning is to avoid, and thus 避寒 means to avoid or escape the cold weather, so we can’t say 避寒 to indicate winter holidays.

      For word by word translation, winter holidays in Chinese is 冬日假期, and 寒假 refers to the winter holidays for students and teachers. Often when we use 寒假 to mention about winter holidays,it’s in the conversations of school context. 🙂

      And you are very welcome to ask any questions related to Chinese anytime. I’m happy to help you as much as I can! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you mam. i have another request can you plz use the word in a sentence everytime when you write a blog on a word .just for an example so we can get how to use that word 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

